"Binge like you won't get caught."

The Demon in Exile Saga

Demon-slaying, paranormal fantasy fiction in a twisted, well-paced series where nothing is ever as it seems.

"Surtain has skillfully created a world where readers are irresistibly engaged." - BookTrib

The Demon in Exile Saga

Is demon-slayer a genre? In Japan, certainly. In the west, it's catching on. In the fantasy realm of Colivar, it's a way of life.

In many ways, demons and humankind are alike, devious, full of energy and strength, yet they vary in one key aspect. Every human has a heart to share in the creation of our reality. Demons do not; their souls remain lonesome and bleak because of it, bringing only death, disease, and war to whatever they touch. They lack volition. When they cross the Veil into our world, utter chaos ensues.

The Demon in Exile series launched in October 2020 with an ambitious, demon-slayer plot line, a blend of action, mystery, psychodrama, and suspense. It's a work of pure fantasy based on some of the early philosophies of CG Jung where humanity vies with demons for control of their own world. Fans of urban fantasy, vampire/werewolf fantasy, or even military fantasy will enjoy this genre-bending series. The authors imagination and compelling first person narration build a witty blend of pain-filled action and twisted drama where the characters are as strong as they are flawed, and nothing is ever as it seems.

The series consists of 9 full-length novels to be released beginning with Book #1, FIREFANGED, in October of 2020 via Amazon (ebook, hardcover, and paperback) and B&N (paperback). Book #9, VIGIL STORM, arrives in June of 2022. An ebook omnibus will arrive shortly thereafter for the binge readers in our midst. Let's face it, this is a series to be binged. Each book is better than the last. 

Escape with them. You won't be disappointed.

<Scroll Down> for a quick synopsis of each book.  

About the Books

Colivar is a Kingdom plagued by seemingly random incursions from the Infernal Domain. For centuries, the Order of the Vigil has fought to stem the demonic tide and preserve the Realm, but politics and uncivil wars have depleted their ranks. For reasons unknown, the High Prince of Hell has decided to lend them a hand in the form of a dark soul, a demon in exile.
Book #1 - Released Oct 5th, 2020

A demon in Exile. It wasn’t a gift. It was a message.

While the black cloud of a demonic horde looms on the horizon, in a remote town on the Realm's northern reaches, a teenager encounters a death-demon assassin and somehow survives. Perceiving the growing Infernal threat, the teen must come to grips with a mysterious dark soul that shares his fight but threatens to destroy his sanity.

Book #2 - Released Nov 16th, 2020
The Scarred Man

My district. My city. Murderhall.

In the city of Maidenhall, a demon-slayer and his young company arrive on a mission to solve the most vile of murders. They soon discover the dangerous dark forces hidden beneath the surface of the Capital and within themselves.

Book #3 - Released Jan 18th, 2021
Sorrow's Twin

Sometimes, everything goes according to plan. I dread those moments.

Deep in the jungles on the Realm’s eastern border, a Vigil campaign becomes more deadly than anyone imagined. Struggling to control his inner madness, a demon-slayer finds himself in the worst of all possible positions as he confronts a clan of heretics and their demonic overlords.

Book #4 - Released Apr 5th, 2021
Wind Catcher

"Don't confuse insanity for intent."

Politics and purpose draw a demon-slayer into a distant valley plagued by the black winds of war. In his bid to stem the dark tide, he soon finds that the only path forward offers madness with every step that he takes.  

Book #5 - Released June 7th, 2021
Black Fortune

“You are named ‘Firefanged,’ so poetic in your decay.”

The Crown and the criminal underworld have taken note of a demon-slayer's unique abilities and made their claims in a bid to control him. With a Black Fortune up for grabs, all sides encounter far more than they expected.

Book #6 - Released Sept 6th, 2021
Gray Prince

"Beyond this small war, there is a plague." 

Preparing for a daunting military campaign, a demon-slayer risks everything in an attempt to end an uncivil war within his realm. While his family and the criminal underworld have a host of schemes for controlling a Gray Prince, he must come up with his own.

Book #7 - Released Dec 6th, 2021

The Devil and Koki-Ten

"The choice is yours, but the plague is mine, wherever it leads."

In a world of the Gold and the Gray, a sorcerer and a death-demon vie for control while seeking to break an emperor's sinister hold on a ruined realm. Trapped in a city that's being consumed by an Infernal plague, can a demon-slayer find a path forward when all roads lead to destruction?

Book #8 - Released March 7th, 2022
Storm Sister

That it lacked a heart was never a concern. I had met its kind before.

A young woman has everything that she could want except her brother who's missing in the distant court of a sinister realm. Following his path through a ruined land, she must face the curse within herself as she strives to bring him back.

Book #9 - Released June 6th, 2022
Vigil Storm

“Like a devil, you’ve drawn a blessing from a curse.”

A clash of realities unleashes a demonic horde never seen before. A wayward demon-slayer gathers his House and searches for his missing wife, waging a war against kings and gang bosses along the way. The series finale of the Demon in Exile saga delivers on all counts.  

Offline Website Builder